

# RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held Virtually on Thursday, 14 July 2022 at 10.00 am.

# County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor R Lewis (Chair)

Councillor G Stacey Councillor J Brencher Councillor S Evans Councillor S Hickman

### Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, Senior Manager of Governor Support and Emergency Planning

### 1 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

**RESOLVED** – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interests in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared:-

County Borough Councillor S. Evans in respect of agenda item 6 "I am a Governor at Parc Primary School".

County Borough Councillor G. Stacey in respect of agenda item 6 "I am a Governor at Llanilltud Faerdref Primary School".

County Borough Councillor J. Brencher in respect of agenda item 6 "I am a Governor at Maes-y-coed Primary School".

County Borough Councillor S. Hickman in respect of agenda item 6 "I am a Governor at Porth Community School".

#### 2 TO ELECT A CHAIRMAN

**RESOLVED** to elect County Borough Councillor R. Lewis as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2022-23 municipal year.

## 3 TO ELECT A VICE-CHAIRMAN

**RESOLVED** to appoint County Borough Councillor G. Stacey as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2022 – 23 municipal year.

## 4 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> March 2022 as an accurate reflection of the meeting, subject to it being noted that Mr C Newcombe's application was withdrawn from the Governing Body of Ysgol Llanhari as he is already appointed to the maximum of two Schools Governing Bodies.

### 5 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION:

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# 6 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, five applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Abercynon Primary	CBC M Rees-	17 <sup>th</sup> October
	Jones	2022
Aberdare Park Primary	Mrs A Hosgood	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Aberdare Town Church in	Mrs M Morris	24 <sup>th</sup> October
Wales Primary		2022
Alaw Primary	Mr L Jones	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Brynnau Primary	CBC B Stephens	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Cilfynydd Primary	CBC H Gronow	8 <sup>th</sup> June 2022
Cwmaman Primary	CBC C Williams	1 <sup>st</sup> September

		2022
Cwmdar Primary	Mr C Davies	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Cwmlai Primary	Mr G Tranter	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Dolau Primary	CBC D Evans	11 <sup>th</sup> June
-		2022
Llanhari Primary	Mr M Cleverley	24 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Llanilltud Faerdref Primary	Mr D Williams	25 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Maerdy Primary	CBC J Smith	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Maesybryn Primary	CBC K Johnson	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Maes-y-Coed Primary	CBC M Webber	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Maes-y-Coed Primary	CBC C Leyshon	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Penderyn Primary	CBC K Morgan	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Penpych Primary	Mr D Duggan	20 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Penpych Primary	CBC S Emanuel	24 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Penrhiwceibr Primary	Mr G Thomas	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Penyrenglyn Primary	CBC S Emanuel	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Penywaun Primary	CBC L Addiscott	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Pontrhondda Primary	Mr J Hamblin	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Rhigos Primary	CBC A Rogers	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
St. Margarets R.C. Primary	Miss S Davies	24 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Ton Pentre Infants	Mrs M Lewis	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022

( **Note:** At that point, County Borough Councillor S. Evans had left the meeting).

Trehopcyn Primary	CBC C Leyshon	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Treorchy Primary	Mr J Evans	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Treorchy Primary	Mrs M Lewis	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Ynysboeth Primary	Mrs B Ratuszny-Jones	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Ynysboeth Primary	CBC M Rees-Jones	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
YGG Bronllwyn	Mr E Samuel	11 <sup>th</sup> June
		2022
YGG Pontsionnorton	CBC Hywel Gronow	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Ysgol Llanhari	CBC Paul Binning	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Maesgwyn Special School	Cllr C Parker	17 <sup>th</sup> October
		2022
Tai Education Centre	Mrs C Edwards	1st November
		2022
Tai Education Centre	Mrs C Jones	1st November
		2022
Ty Gwyn	Mrs C Jones	1 <sup>st</sup> November
		2022
Porth Community School	CBC Sarah Hickman	1st September

		2022
Porth Community School	CBC R Davis	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2022
Tonyrefail Community School	Mr S Morgan	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2022
Ysgol Nantgwyn	CBC C Middle	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2022
Ysgol Nantgwyn	CBC L Ellis	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2022
Ysgol Nantgwyn	Mrs M Lewis	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2022
Aberdare Community School	CBC M Maohoub	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Ferndale Community School	Mrs J Jones	24 <sup>th</sup> October 2022
St John Baptiste C in W Comprehensive	CBC C Williams	24 <sup>th</sup> October 2022
Treorchy Comprehensive School	Mr A Chapman	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydywaun	Mrs N Connolly	24 <sup>th</sup> October 2022
New Welsh Primary School	Mrs L Chinnock-Davies	14 <sup>th</sup> July 2022

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal interest in the matter County Borough Councillor S. Hickman left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Porth Community School).

This meeting closed at 10.33 am

CLLR R LEWIS CHAIR.